Day 263: The Man and the Song a Day Challenge, Day 2; ‘Elixir’

We’re gonna get real, like reeeal sappy today people. I’m talking could have been straight out of a Korean drama sappy. Amnesia, car accident, evil twins, elixir of youth, the whole nine yards.

Sam Ock

So, Sam Ock. I really don’t know what to say about him. I’m not even entirely sure how I came across this song. I just know I heard it one day, and I really liked the lyrics, and I felt all sappy and sentimental, and I wanted to play this at my wedding. Hahah. I will admit to shamelessly belting, and I mean screaming, out these lyrics when I am driving by myself. I’m not entirely a fan of the motif of ‘I am completely and utterly unworthy and undeserving of your love’ but…this song doesn’t harp (HA, get it) too much on that. Like, let’s all just recognize we are flawed and imperfect human beings and rather than being surprised that someone loves us, let’s just continue to always work and strive to be appreciative and reciprocative of that love. Which I do think the song ultimately says. So you know, aww.

Maybe I’m a little caught off guard

‘Cause I never thought that I’d be loved, by you

Am I just caught in a lie

Can this be real, can this be right?

I’m trying to cover all sorts of musical styles. So yesterday we covered synthwave. Today we covered love ballads. Who knows what tomorrow will bring? You’ll have to stay tuned to find out.

Day 263

Man: 230 Loneliness: 33

9 thoughts on “Day 263: The Man and the Song a Day Challenge, Day 2; ‘Elixir’

Leave a Reply

