Day 209: The Man and the Mystery Blogger Award; ‘Resist’

This is an overdue response to rugby843‘s award nomination. She’s a wonderfully talented and humorous writer, and I particularly recommend her picture prompt challenge responses. (Still hungry after those automats. Hahah.) Moreover though, she is a thoroughly engaging and interactive writer and member of the community, whose comments and reactions are always welcome and appreciated.

So the next part is supposed to be ‘three things about me’. And I’m increasingly finding it hard to find new things to say, considering most of it is either out, on a planned post, or part of some grander scheme past my year reveal. Ahahah. But you know I just can’t resist a chance to talk about myself, narcissist that I am.

  1. I hate eggplant. It has a terribly unappealing texture and taste. Grilled eggplant, eggplant parm, I don’t do ANY of them.
  2. Whether in school or at work, whenever I get in trouble 99% of the time it is because I have problems with authority. The other 1% is because I’m always late. Because you can’t tell me when to come in, boss!
  3. In first grade for a laugh I stuck a marble up my nose. It got stuck. I sneezed it out in seventh grade.

Now there are some questions to answer!

What is a dream you would most like to achieve?

The most unrealistic and far-off dream I have right now is to open up my own restaurant and be the man in the kitchen or behind the bar, depending on my mood. I’d love to be able to make a successful living as a restaurateur.

Have you ever been in love? What did it feel like? When was your first kiss? If not, what’s your favorite dessert?

Definitely been in love. You can read all about it…you know…all over here…*waves arms around blog*. My first attempted kiss was on a grassy hill waiting for the bus with my then-girlfriend in seventh grade. I was so nervous I closed my eyes too and ended up kissing her nose instead. My first actual kiss was in high school, sophomore year, after we both looked up a couple WikiHows and saw some videos. Maybe it was youthful energy and curiosity, maybe it was stupidity or optimistic memory, but I still kinda think that maybe my high school girlfriend was the best kisser yet. So, you know, good on you Rebcop.

Oh and my favorite dessert would be to order another entree.

What do you do when no one is around?

Well god…this definitely comes to mind. But other than that…I do talk to myself. I’ve had to do a lot of that in an empty house. I curse at myself a lot, which I guess might mean something. I also like to do accents. But they’re all caricatures bordering on offensive. I don’t care, no one is around remember? French, Spanish, southern, Russian, I just like to make funny voices.

What is your most embarrassing moment?

Ask me this at midnight, when I’m trying to go to sleep, and my mind decided to dig up every embarrassing moment ever and I’m just cringing in my bed. All the stupid things I’ve ever done thinking it would impress a girl. Trying to get their attention. I’m usually a pretty laid-back guy but if I’m trying to get with a girl…I do dumb stuff.

What is your favorite book a teacher recommended?

I have two, both recommended by my elementary school librarian, a profession that is increasingly endangered and very often misunderstood in how important they are. She was a resource of information, wisdom, and insight. Outside of any academic responsibilities, with no tests to have to prep me for, she was honestly interested in just engaging me and opening me up to worlds between pages. When she saw I was breezing through the books we normally read and was getting restless, she turned me on to Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time series and the absolutely incredible timeless book The Phantom Tollbooth. Well worth a read again and again at any age.

Extra question time!

If you could be anyone in the world, but yourself, living or dead, who would it be?

Easy. Anthony Bourdain. I have said time and time again I would want to come back and live Anthony Bourdain’s life. He has brought himself to the brink of death and destruction and managed to bring himself back to land and secure book deals, television shows, a beautiful wife, happy family, and a ticket anywhere around the world to any restaurant table around the world. That man is living the life I want to live. I want to be reckless, wild, violent, high, drunk, and then become one of the most respected figures in travel, food, and culture. And THEN also open up a food market in New York city which, BTW Anthony, I’M STILL WAITING FOR IT TO OPEN.


I am honored to have received this nomination, and though I would like to fulfill its last obligation, I am unfortunately at a loss here. I am nominated by one whom I would nominate, and most of the others are either award-free blogs or have already been nominated of the same. I would like to express my utmost gratitude and appreciation and I hope you’ll forgive me for not having any nominations. If however you are reading this and would like to become involved, please let me know and I would love to read your blog more and be able to honestly and fully nominate you.

Day 209

Man: 177 Loneliness: 32

 

2 thoughts on “Day 209: The Man and the Mystery Blogger Award; ‘Resist’

Leave a Reply

