Day 146: The Man and the NaNoWriMo; By the Numbers

NaNoWriMo.png

We did it everyone! We survived November and we set out on a seemingly impossible task and we blew it out of the water! What an experience. What an exercise. While I am very proud of the result, I know there is still much left to be done.

But first, let’s look at the past month by the numbers shall we?!

Final word count: 57189.

Average words per day: 1906

Man days: 22

Loneliness: 7

Definitely a higher Loneliness count than perhaps any month so far, but I think that had a lot to do with the chapters I was writing those days. I had to bring up a lot of old memories and really dig up some emotions, and also face a few demons and mistakes. I’ve also never written so much on such a consistent basis. I’m all worded out.

CertificatNaNo.PNG

It’s ultimately fitting then that I am all set and packed and ready to take a vacation with my family!

Paradisus.jpg

We are all headed to the beautiful Paradisus Cancun in Cancun, Mexico. One of my company’s best-selling all-inclusive resorts. In fact they were kind enough to send me some free nights for me to use. We leave on Friday, Saturday we’re doing an ATV tour across the jungle and beaches of Cancun, and every day it’ll be eat and drink and play all you want. I want to windsurf and paddleboard and ride a hobie cat.

Evil Dead.gifIt’ll be a nice change of pace, especially since the last few days are really when I felt the strain of having to write out everything between Beautiful and I. I also realized how much I really want to share this story, and to that extent, even after vacation I want to spend the rest of this month away from the story to let it age and mature and so that when I come back I can look at it with fresh eyes. I want to keep working on this, improving it, beyond an exercise in word count and the cathartic benefits of throwing all these words on paper, and turn it into something real and wonderful and hopefully, helpful to others. In January and February I will be revisiting and revising what I wrote but right now it’s all about celebrating and being thankful to finish.

I want to thank everyone who has joined me along this journey. To those of you who were brave enough to take on this challenge, I’ve enjoyed sharing the battle scars with you and reading your stories. For all of you who have been so generous with your time and comments and attention, thank you for letting me into your daily lives and sharing with me your valuable insight and advice and wisdom. I’ve looked forward to hearing all your stories and comments. I’m glad to be done with it, but there’s a part of me that just can’t wait for next year’s NaNoWriMo. But first the break and first the relaxation. Some space and some time to relax.

Your regularly scheduled programming will return on the 6th! Adios y vaya con dios!

Day 146

Man: 118 Loneliness: 28

 

16 thoughts on “Day 146: The Man and the NaNoWriMo; By the Numbers

Leave a Reply

