Day 83 Supplemental: The Man and the First Day of ‘Pearls’ of Wisdom

Oysers White.jpg

The wonderful Tantei M. Gin has tagged me in a three day, three quote challenge which is both exciting and very very stressful because I am not a man of quotes. Hahah. I’m a big picture kind of guy; I’ll consume whole books and ideas and concepts and I’ll know who to attribute them to but if you want a nicely packaged quote that captures all that, bupkus. This goes to my ‘poetry vs prose’ mentality of not being able to do anything succinctly.

BUT…

I know the works I want to discuss. So it’s been fun to revisit old favorites and find something that speaks to me.

I also happen to enjoy Tantei’s idea of withholding the origin until the next day, so I will continue in that vein.

If you’d like to participate, it’s really quite simple. Three quotes, three days, and if you’d prefer, three nominations each day.


Day One:

‘I’ve long believed that good food, good eating, is all about risk. Whether we’re talking about unpasteurized Stilton, raw oysters or working for organized crime ‘associates,’ food, for me, has always been an adventure.’

It is pretty obvious that for me, food is life. It is in the way I view the world and how I process experiences. You’ll notice that a lot of my writing is ‘food’ related. I ‘consume’ experiences and thought. I ‘relish’ opportunity. A lot of my rhetoric is in terms of food. Just as artistic people seem to be able to ‘color’ their world or musicians ‘tune’ in to their thoughts. I’ve always gravitated towards good food and good drink as signs of a good life.

I could never exist on a diet of only the safe and the glamorous though. Good food, like life, is found in the hard to find places. I can’t tell you how many horrible nightmare gastrointestinal experiences I’ve had in pursuit of the best, most authentic, completely unapologetic food. Life isn’t something to be distilled or sanitized. If a dish is supposed to be spicy and I know it to be so, I’ll make sure when I order it that they give me the full flavor. Don’t think I don’t know when you’re ‘tourist’-ifying my meals. I’ve dined in places where I always had one foot on the door and one eye on the other people. I’ve had to really stretch my imagination to convince myself of the ‘beefiness’ of a restaurant’s ‘beef’. But I’ve never regretted a single experience. Not everything has to be repeatable or end neat and tidy and well. There have been times where afterwards I thought to myself ‘that was clearly an unwarranted risk’. But hindsight is 20/20, and a luxury for the dead.

Risk is a given in anything worth while. Careers, relationships, dinner. I am not averse to risk.

4 thoughts on “Day 83 Supplemental: The Man and the First Day of ‘Pearls’ of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

