Day 71: The Man and the Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine Blogger.jpg

Like whaaaaaaaaaaat. Hahah. I can’t believe I was nominated for another award! That’s pretty crazy. Right on, you guys, right on. I am extremely grateful to Gagan Khaira at rheakhaira for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award. If you can somehow find some positivity and sunshine in my musings then by all means help yourself to those yummy yummy rays. I know I have my down days, some days I’m going to take a loss, but I’m happy to say I’m winning more than losing and I’m spreading sun more than gloom. Hahah.

Opposite April.gif

The Rules

  1. Thank the person that nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions from your nominator.
  3. Nominate fellow bloggers you follow.
  4. Give them 10 questions to answer.

The Answers

  1. Do you believe in humanity more than nationality?
    1. I believe in the power of humanity over nationality. There was a time when nationality was a matter not just of pride but of survival. Our communities grew and we had to band together to share resources and ensure the continuity of our families. It started as small groups. Evolved into tribes. Then villages, cities, states, and most recently countries. But we’ve gone as far as we can as separate peoples. The problems one nation faces now affect every other. It’s time to dissolve the idea that our responsibilities end at these imaginary lines. Countries only seeking the benefit of themselves are what hurts our communal chances at survival and prosperity.
  2. Have you ever been in Love?
    1. Yes, with every woman who’s ever looked at me. Hahah. No but seriously, I believe I’ve experienced what I thought Love should be. Now I’m focused on redefining Love before I go out in search of it again. But the Love I thought I wanted, I had, I lost, or rather it left, and it hurt me.
  3. What’s the one advice you would give to your younger self?
    1. Don’t wait to be me. Start sooner than you think you should. You can always be smarter, wiser, healthier, and happier sooner if you stop waiting and get doing.
  4. What’s the one advice you would give me for my writings (be brutally honest on this one)?
    1. For your Sandwich series: very interesting writing but I think you can play a bit with tense more. Everything is so concrete, so finished. ‘He had’ ‘she had’ ‘he was’ ‘she was’. If everything important you want us to feel and experience and capture already happened, why do we still want to know now OR why did we miss it? Run faster than your story. Stay one step ahead. Vary your tenses so our sense of time and progression moves with your story.
  5. Beach or Mountains. Which one do you prefer and why?
    1. Mountains, hands down. I don’t like sun. Hahah. I don’t like heat. I don’t like sand in my food. I love the solitude of the mountains. The romance of a cabin and fire or just a private cozy campsite. The sound of the forest as it breathes. The smell of morning dew being caught on pine needles. And when the mountain air gets chilly, you just have to snuggle up for warmth, don’t you?
  6.  Name your favorite book and why do you love it so much?
    1. Oh man…this is too hard…oh god…I’m literally walking around my hotel room right now mulling this over. I have a lot. Kitchen Confidential helped me think realistically about my passions and my goals in life. Sherlock Holmes taught me to see the world for everything it hid in plain sight. Anything by Kazuo Ishiguro reminds me that there is beauty in everything, even sadness and loss. Christopher Moore never fails to make me laugh. Nick Hornby creates characters I want to meet. Paddle Your Own Canoe taught me to be a modern man.
  7. What’s your secret or hidden talent?
    1. Well it’s a secret because I won’t tell you how I do it, so that counts right? I am an amateur magician. I especially love card tricks.
  8. What’s the one thing you wish you could do?
    1. I wish I could be my own boss. I really want to start my own business one day and be able to set my own schedule and earn on my own terms.
  9. How much does your family mean to you and why?
    1. They are everything to me. But I do want to say that I believe we make our own family. I have friends I consider family because they’ve been with me for as long as I can remember. They know me on a deeply personal level and we look out for each other. Of course I feel the same way and more about my actual family like my mother, father, and brother, but I don’t have that same connection to some relatives. I think there’s nothing wrong with defining your own family as long as you cherish and appreciate and do anything for them as they would for you.
  10. How and when did you start blogging? What’s your story?
    1. Ha, well, this is very easy to answer. I started…*looks up* exactly 71 days ago! Oh man. A little more than two months now. They say the three month hump is the hardest to get over so let’s see what happens.
    2. My story is the whole reason why I started this blog. I was a man of hopeless romance and unrequited love. I was bleeding from the heart from continually poking at it every chance I got. I finally decided to stop, take a breath, re-evaluate, and in-between catching my breath reflect on all the other aspects of life I had neglected or simply not acknowledged. What I realized also though was that it wasn’t the silence of not hearing other people that was driving me crazy, it was the silence of my own voice. I had lost my most important audience, my audience of one. But I felt I still had so much I wanted to share especially during this process. I didn’t want to share with family or friends because I felt their pre-conceived notions of me would cloud their judgement or misconstrue what I was trying to accomplish. So I started this blog to throw my writing into the world and hope that some like-minded souls would get caught and I’d find my voice again.

The Nominations

I would like to take a moment to acknowledge that there are very many of you who I would like to nominate that I am aware have already been so in the past. As such I am trying to spread the love and nominate those who I believe in and who I believe have not yet been nominated.

Wanderlust – Variety, skill, talent, and youthful energy that always makes me smile when I read. Our digital conversations and the exchange of writing has been a welcome surprise to my blogging experience.

Breath Math – Education is the nourishment of a young student and the educator is the sun. I am always happy to learn from this blog.

knowmyheart – It is not only her writing that fills me with joy as I appreciate her talent, it is her continued support and acknowledgement of my own writing that makes me truly happy.

insidious temptation – A blog that makes me happy in a….different…way. The writing is playful and an example of what language is truly meant to do. Seduce and excite. Another person whose not only inspires happiness with her prose but who has personally made me happy by her constant, kind words.

kStan(ly) kSays – Poetry that never fails to inspire laughter and joy. A tremendous amount of wit and self-awareness that exudes confidence and happiness with every piece. His poems are always a happy destination in my day.

The Questions

  1. What is the most embarrassing/stupid thing you’ve ever done to impress or get the attention of someone you were romantically interested in?
  2. Did it work?
  3. What would be your final meal?
  4. Could you remember and describe a dream or nightmare that was very significant to you? Maybe a recurring one or perhaps one that seemed so vivid to you even to this day.
  5. What is your favorite room in your house and why?
  6. What is the worst thing about living where you live?
  7. How do you deal with cold weather?
  8. Could you please share with me one of your most favorite pieces from your blog and why you are most proud of this or happiest with how it came out?
  9. What word or phrase commonly used by people today needs to die?
  10. Favorite action movie of all time?

Alright everyone! Get out there, enjoy the sunshine, and get to writing and spreading the love! Thanks again. I am always happy to be a part of this community and humbled by all your support and acknowledgement.

Day 71

Man: 54 Loneliness: 17

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Day 71: The Man and the Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Well, first things first I loved the answers. I enjoyed every word you put out there. You seem like a really interesting person. And thank you so much for the advice. Really appreciate that. I think that’s because I wrote the series in such a rush. When you have too many things to do and you wanna do it all in one day without setting your priorities straight. That’s what happens. Keep writing and keep spreading love and sunshine 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Wow! Another well deserved award! I loved reading your answers – truthful and funny.
    And OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOhmygolly! Thank you so much for your nomination! Keep writing, dude! And keep winning! I know Man will win. I said it before didn’t I? Loneliness can just suck up his butt.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aww, thank you for the nomination! I definitely enjoyed reading your answers, although I felt I already knew so much by reading through your blog. As you can probably tell, I’ve been skipping around. I made it through the mid-twenties and then started reading the current days. Normally, this isn’t me, the OCD kicks in and I have to go in order, but I am so intrigued with who you are as a person and writer, and need to know how you’re currently faring. I’m happy to see Man is in the lead! I have no doubt He will succeed! I look forward to answering your questions! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah I am beginning to lose the mystery and the intrigue! Hahah. Maybe I should write about others instead for a bit. I’ll take it as a compliment that you’ve picked up my story and couldn’t wait to see the latest update. So thank you for so much of your support and for reading and caring about my story. Man has a pretty sizable lead so you’ll be safe betting on him for now.
      Coming up with the questions was fun so I cannot wait to read everyone’s response.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award! – Universe Unexplored

  5. Pingback: Day 76: The Man and the Continued Act of Gratitude | manvsloneliness

  6. Pingback: Black Cat Blue Sea Award! – Universe Unexplored

  7. Pingback: Tags of Eight – Universe Unexplored

Leave a Reply

