Day 20: The Man and The Power of Routine, Setting a Plan P.3

NewarkIt is now 5:17am, and this post is actually for Sunday. I’m sitting here typing on Word because the internet at Newark Airport is pretty much nonexistent. I wonder when I’ll actually be able to post this. It’ll be interesting, considering that today’s (Monday’s) post will be in direct response to this.

As I mentioned last week, I need to do a better job of setting a routine whenever I’m on the road. For the myriad of personal physical and mental health reasons. A routine will help me get back in shape and not let the road add too many unnecessary poundage. It is also necessary if I hope to stave off loneliness and insecurity that comes from being alone with your own thoughts too long. It’ll help me better enjoy and appreciate the destination and the opportunity afforded to me by this very unique and dynamic occupation. A routine sets discipline and order, which, paradoxically, gives me better chances for some spontaneity and excitement. I don’t have to worry. I know where I am, what I’m doing, and why. And when I afford myself the chance to indulge, it’s guilt-free and I can be 100% committed to enjoyment without worry.

I’m actually grateful thatJetBlue.jpg this time I get to set up a home base for the three days I’m in Fort Lauderdale. None of the stores are more than an hour away from each other so I just chose a hotel that is at the nexus. This means I don’t have to pack every morning and unpack every night. I get to spend more time getting to know my surroundings better. I already picked the restaurants and can’t wait to try them. With more time free because I won’t be relocating and checking into a different place each day I can work to better follow the schedule I set for myself.

So here’s the plan:

Monday July 18, 2016

Flight arrives at 9:30am

Pick up rental car at 10am

Arrive at first store (Davie, FL) at 10:30am

Arrive at second store (Boca Raton, FL) at 12:30pm

Check into hotel at 3pm

MUST GO TO FITNESS CENTER FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR

Shower

Dinner at Old Heidelberg’s, this crazy looking German themed bierhaus with accordion players and girls in those Bavarian dresses and corsets. I have to take a picture with at least the accordion player and hopefully one of the Bavarian girls.

Write blog post. I’d like to maybe for once not be up at 3am writing in my hotel room, and maybe I can actually take care of myself and post at a reasonable time which means sleeping at a reasonable time. All part of being responsible.

Sleep, preferably no later than 1am.

 

Tuesday, July 19 2016

Wake up at 6am

MUST GO TO FITNESS CENTER FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR at 6:30am

Breakfast at 8:30am

Arrive at first store (Hollywood, FL) at 10am

Attend First Year Consultant meeting, lead with area Career Coach

Back to hotel to change out of uniform

MUST GO TO FITNESS CENTER FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR

Shower

Explore town, actually investigate. Maybe I’ll check out the beach. Hope to catch lots of Pokemon.

Dinner at Catfish Dewey’s. Another promising seafood shack with daily all you can eat specials. Another place with a bar. Another opportunity to take to always sit where the action is. Sustainable Florida stone crab claws.

Back to hotel. Write blog post. Relax. Sleep early.

Wednesday, July 20 2016

Wake up at 6am

MUST GO TO FITNESS CENTER FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR at 6:30am

Breakfast at 8:30am

Explore town again. Maybe catch a movie. Do something for me. I worked enough.

Must be at airport by 4pm.

Back home.

 

This routine should help me get the most out of my trip and work to better myself at the same time. Obviously the next days’ posts will be about how well I can stick to this expectation. But I have to remember I’m doing this for me. That this is for my own benefit. I’m taking personal incentive in taking care of myself, not waiting for someone else to crack the whip or kid myself in thinking this is for someone else. When I land and get settled in, maybe I’ll see if there are any movie theatres nearby to catch a movie on my last day.

 

Leave a Reply

